Daily Life in Korea 6

My co-worker and I went to the pasta place I went before.  But the waiter spoke only in Korean this time.  Sad face.  The waiter was handsome, did I mention it before?

I waited with my co-worker for her bus, and then used a public toilet in the Western style at a suitably safe place and went to the dry cleaner to pick up my winter clothes.  After lots of motioning and saying yes to things I don’t understand, I am carrying some tights, a skirt, and a coat back to my apartment building.

Picking food off of picture menus, speaking with a strange grammar, walking everywhere, and not understanding.  My life in Korea in a nutshell.

2 thoughts on “Daily Life in Korea 6

  1. I’m getting a sense from your posts that life in Korea takes some getting used to. I’ve come across a lot of Koreans myself, and they tend to have mixed reactions about their home country: pride but a sort of relief at getting a break from the place and being somewhere else..

    1. Hmm, I think any new culture or location is an adjustment … and I have a complicated love/hate relationship with South Korea. But I think it is hard to be an American and visit very nationalistic places where most of the things used in regular daily life were invented by Americans or in America-but to still be treated as an exotic novelty. I think the most difficult part is not having an open, lively, logical discussion between foreigners and natives-for the most part, everyone just works off of biases and prejudice. White, middle-class Americans are brain-washed with notions of diversity, equality, tolerance, freedom and progress-which aren’t shared by other demographics even in America to the same degree and certainly not celebrated as proudly in the rest of the world. Thus, culture shock!

Comments are closed.