Daily Life in Korea 8

I taught kids to introduce themselves.  They spent most of the lesson making name cards.

image

They collected eight new name cards from their classmates and then glued them into their English textbooks.

I got a name tag from work. They put an a where there is an e.  I have worked here five months.  The solution was pasting over the single letter where they didn’t match.

One time, a former boss of mine in America gave me an unfavorable employee review.  I started to disregard what he said after he mentioned the six months I have been working there because it had actually only been three.

It kind of feels similar.

I ate at a restaurant that I am apparently banned from.  I went there once with my laptop.  But the next time I went there they asked me to leave.  Which I did and I ate somewhere else.  But today my Korean friend recommended eating there.  But she said they said some bad comments about me.  Aren’t Koreans in America so lucky-they are allowed to order Starbucks or pizza even if they are identified with their order for their chinky eyes?  Although, I guess my problem was going to a restaurant and staying too long … which again, would make more sense to be frustrated about if you were being tipped and actually needed the table (the place I went is mainly a take-out restaurant).  I guess ignorance is bliss.  Because knowing the truth is just lame.  Customer service is so much better in America.  True story from a world traveler.

One of the students today hugged my co-worker so I guilted her into hugging me.  And then I felt guilty about it.

Three kids gave me candy today!  It was sweet.  But they had an abundance because it was White Day-boys give girls candy in this made-up parallel to Asian Valentine’s Day holiday.  Only one of these kids was a boy.

I called for a taxi and the driver was not happy about me being a slow foreigner.  So he yelled at me over the phone, which isn’t helpful when I obviously don’t understand.  And was a waste of two minutes when I could have been outside at that point.

The final thought: I don’t regret resigning at all.

