BBC News – Newsnight – Ballet’s Sergei Polunin: ‘The artist in me was dying’

” “In a way I did feel that the artist in me was dying a little bit and I wasn’t giving as much of myself and putting as much creativity into it as I could, as I should.”

So, in January, just a week before he was due to appear as the lead in a production of The Dream he took Royal Ballet Director Dame Monica Mason aside and told her he was leaving.

Polunin says it was a decision driven not by a desire to give up, but by a desire to continue to achieve:

“I do not want to sit and make a nest and be comfortable, and I did feel so comfortable that I stopped being involved as a person and an artist and that is not something I want.

… I destroyed in a way everything I had in order to be able to build.”

via BBC News – Newsnight – Ballet’s Sergei Polunin: ‘The artist in me was dying’.

