Difficulty and Growth

Life is hard.  I feel like I have woken up from a long nap.

It’s like I am slowly realizing the dream I was living in has ended.  “Time to wake-up!”  Now I have a lot of growing to do if I want to become a person I love.  Instead of the last few years of just surviving, I need to focus on thriving.

It’s scary.  I feel confronted by difficulties.  It is very scary.  I am always worried about messing up, getting in over my head, or how the consequences will hurt my heart.  And it seems like everything, even good growth, hurts my heart.

Maybe I should think of it like stretching muscles before starting a work-out.  It might not feel great, but it is getting me ready to do something much more demanding.  And it’s a necessary step.

Maybe I should try not to think about it too much.

